Unrecognized

John 1:10 says, “He was in the world, and though the world was made through him, the world did not recognize him” (NIV).

I’ve read that verse dozens, if not hundreds of times. Like so many others, I can breeze past it because it is so familiar, but that’s not a good idea.

I’m reading Joshua Harris’s Dug Down Deep. I’ll admit, at first, it struck me as “basic.” As I continued to read, I realized a number of things. What Christians once considered basic is too often lost on the up and coming generation – even those who have been raised in the church. I also realized I needed to once again be “slapped upside the head” with some of the basics. The book has been eye-opening in many ways.  (I will write a review of Dug Down Deep later this week or early next and post it on http://bookrevu.wordpress.com)

When I take a few minutes to really dwell on John 1:10, it has the potential to blow me away. Wow! How could the Creator walk among us and go unrecognized?

But wait…

I do the same when I don’t take the time to read and meditate on the Scriptures (for that’s where He has chosen to review His nature). In fact, what I’m doing is worse because I know better.

Too often I make excuses for not living in obedience. While I will never completely plumb the depths of the Truth the Bible contains, there is much I already know. If I don’t do what I know I should, the Word of God says I sin. I cannot obey in my own strength, but I have His promise that, in Jesus, I have everything I need for life and godliness.

They didn’t recognize Jesus for who He was when he walked the earth 2,000 years ago. They don’t recognize Him today.

But the question is Do I? Do you?

May the Lord make Himself known to you this day. God bless you!

Leave a comment